Uhuru-Spirit News


December 09, 2013 | UhuruSpirit

Nelson Mandela

Statement of confirmation of Heads of State and Government who will be attending the funeral events of Dr. Nelson Mandela.

The South African Government can confirm that the following Heads of State and Government and their representatives, as well as royalty, are travelling to South Africa to join the people of South Africa in bidding a final farewell to the late Former President Nelson Mandela:

1. Afghanistan, His Excellency Hamid Karzai, President

2. Algeria, His Excellency Mr Abdelkader Bensalah, Speaker of the Council of the Nation (Senate) – rank above the Prime Minister

3. Angola, His Excellency Mr Manuel Vicente, Vice President

4. Argentina, Mr Amado Boudou, Acting President of Argentina

5. Australia, His Excellency Mr Tony Abbott, MP, Prime Minister

6. Bahamas, Right Honourable Perry Christie, Prime Minister

7. Bangladesh, His Excellency Mr Md. Abdul Hamid MD ABDUL, President

8. Belgium, His Royal Highness King Philippe

9. Benin, His Excellency Boni Yayi, President

10. Botswana, His Excellency Lt Gen. Seretse Khama Ian Khama, President

11. Brazil, Her Excellency Dilma Rousseff, President

12. Burundi, His Excellency Pierre Nkurunziza, President

13. Canada, His Excellency Stephen Harper, Prime Minister

14. CHAD, His Excellency Mr Idriss Deby Itno, President

15. China, His Excellency Li Yuanchao, Vice President,

16. COMORES, His Excellency Dr Ikiliou Dhoinine, President

17. Congo (Republic of the Congo ), His Excellency Mr Denis Sassou-Nguesso, President

18. Congo (Democratic Republic of Congo), His Excellency Joseph Kabila, President

19. Cote d Ivoire, His Excellency President Allassane Ouattara, President

20. Croatia, His Excellency Josipovic Ivo, President

21. Cuba, His Excellency Raul Castro Ruz, President

22. Denmark, His Royal Highness, Crown Prince Federick

23. Djibouti, His Excellency Ismail Omar Guelleh, President

24. Ethiopia, His Excellency Ato Hailemariam Dessalegn, Prime Minister

25. Equatorial Guinea, His Excellency Mr Obiang Mbasogo, President

25. France, His Excellency, Francois Hollande, President

26. Finland, His Excellency Sauli Niinisto, President

27. Gabon, His Excellency Ali Bongo Ondimba, President

28. The Gambia, His Excellency Prof Alhaji Dr Yahya AJJ Jammeh, President Sheikh

29. Ghana, His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, President

30. Germany, His Excellency Joachim Gauck, President

31. Guyana, His Excellency Donald Ramotar, President

32. Guinea, His Excellency Prof Alpha Conde, President

33. India, His Excellency Pranab Mukherjee, President

34. Ireland, His Excellency Michael D Higgins, President

35. Italy, His Excellency Enrico Letta, Prime Minister

36. Japan, His Imperial Highness, Crown Prince Naruhito

37. Jamaica, Her Excellency, Portia Simpson Miller, Prime Minister

38. Jordan, Her Royal Highness, Queen Rania Al Abdullah and His Excellency Prime Minister Dr Abdullah Ensour

39. Kenya, His Excellency Uhuru Kenyatta, President

40. Korea (South), His Excellency Hongwon Chung, Prime Minister

41. Lebanon, His Excellency Mr Najib Mikati, Prime Minister

42. Lesotho, His Excellency, T Thabane, Prime Minister

43.Liberia, Her Excellency Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, President

44. Mozambique, President of Mozambique, HE Armando Emilio Guebuza

45. Namibia, His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba, President

46. Niger, His Excellency Issoufou Mahamdou, President

47. New Zealand, Right Hon John Key, Prime Minister

48. Nigeria, His Excellency Goodluck Jonathan, President

49. Norway, His Royal Highness Haakon, Crown Prince of Norway

50. Pakistan, His Excellency Mr Mamnoon Hussain, President

51. Palestinian State, His Excellency Mahmoud Abbas, President

52. Portugal, His Excellency, Anibal Cavaco Silva, President

53. Saudi Arabia, His Royal Highness Prince Muqrin bin Abdulaziz Al-Saud, Crown Prince

54. Saharawi Republic, His Excellency Mr Mohamed Abdelaziz, President

55. Senegal, His Excellency Macky Sall, President

56. Serbia, His Excellency Tomislav Nikolic, President

57. Seychelles, His Excellency Mr James Alix MICHEL

58. Spain, His Royal Highness Felipe de Borbon, The Prince of Asturias

59. Sri Lanka, His Excellency Mahinda Rajapaksa, President

60. Sudan, His Excellency Bakri Hassan Salih, Vice President

61. Suriname, His Excellency Desire Delano Bouterse, President

62. Slovenia, His Excellency Pahor, President

63. South Sudan, His Excellency General Salva Kir Mayardit, President

64. Sweden, His Excellency Fredrik Reinfeldt, Prime Minister and Her Royal Highness Crown Princess Victoria.

65. Switzerland, His Excellency Mr Ulrich Maurer, President

66. Swaziland, His Excellency Dr Sibusiso Dlamini, Prime Minister

67. Tanzania, His Excellency Dr Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, President

68. Timor-Leste, His Excellency Kay Rala Xanana, Prime Minister

69. Tunisia, His Excellency Mohamed Moncef Marzouki, President

70. Trinidad and Tobago, His Excellency Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister

71. Uganda, His Excellency Yoweri Kagota Museveni, President

72. United Arab Emirates, His Excellency Sheikh Nayahan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture – Special Envoy of the Emir

73. United Kingdom, His Royal Highness Prince Charles, Prince of Wales and Prime Minister David Cameron

74. United States of America, His Excellency Barack Obama, President

75. Venezuela, His Excellency Nicolas Maduro Moros, President

76. Zimbabwe, His Excellency Robert Gabriel Mugabe, President

77. Zambia His Excellency Michael Sata, President

78. Arab States League, His Excellency Amb Samir Hosny, Minister

79. African Union Commission, Her Excellency Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Chairperson

80. Commonwealth, His Excellency, Mr Kamalesh Sharma

81. European Council, His Excellency Mr Herman van Rompuy, President

82. Mexico, His Excellency Enrique Pena Nieto President of Mexico

83. Mauritius, His Excellency Dr the Honourable Navinchandra, Prime Minister

84. Mauritania, His Excellency Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz, President

85. Malawi, Her Excellency Joyce Banda, President

86. Grand Duchy of LUXEMBOURG, His Royal Highness Henry of Luxembourg, The Grand Duke

Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane said: "Former President Mandela was an international icon and a symbol of hope for the oppressed and marginalised people across the globe. He will always be remembered worldwide for his values and dedication to the service of humanity in the fields of conflict resolution, reconciliation, the promotion and protection of the rights of children, gender equality and the uplifting of the poor."

At the initiative of South African Government and the Nelson Mandela Foundation, the United Nations General Assembly, in 2010, proclaimed18 July, the birthday of Former President Mandela, as “Nelson Mandela International Day”, to be observed each year.

Since 2010, millions of people from around the world have annually celebrated Madiba’s birthday by dedicating their time in community service - their actions inspired by the work of this iconic South African leader.

Issued by: The Department of International Relations and Cooperation

OR Tambo Building
460 Soutpansberg Road


Mr Clayson Monyela
Spokesperson for the Department of International Relations and Cooperation
082 884 5974

Post your Comment

comments powered by Disqus


Latest Additions

Kwame Nkrumah

Nnamdi Azikiwe

Pixley ka Isaka Seme

Robert Sobukwe

George Padmore

Read Biography>>>


Latest Additions

Robert Mugabe

Goodluck Jonathan

Mwai Kibaki

Winnie Mandela

Thabo Mbeki

Read Biography >>>