Uhuru-Spirit News


January 06, 2017 | Uhuruspirit

Riyad Mahrez

Riyad Mahrez has capped the most successful period of his career by winning the Confederation of African Football (CAF)'s 2016 Player of the Year award.

The 25-year-old Leicester City winger scored 17 Premier League goals and assisted 11 in the Foxes' shock title win under Claudio Ranieri in 2015-16.

He has also excelled on the international stage for Algeria to help them qualify for this month's Africa Cup of Nations, delivering five assists and two goals across five matches.

Mahrez's exploits in the team earning him the PFA Players' Player of the Year award in April, the first African to win the honour.

CAF revealed on Thursday that Mahrez had polled 361 votes to beat last year's winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund into second place, while Liverpool midfielder Sadio Mane was third.

It is the second award for being the best player in Africa that Mahrez has received in the past month, after winning the BBC's award.

His achievements were also recognised by FIFA, who included him on their shortlist for Player of the Year.

Mahrez was also announced as the seventh-highest finisher in Ballon d'Or voting, with team-mate Jamie Vardy a place behind in eighth.

Arsenal's 20-year-old Nigeria winger Alex Iwobi was crowned Young Player of the Year after enjoying a breakout season for both club and country.

Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho, who has scored 20 goals in 52 appearances for his club, was named Africa's 'Most Promising Talent', an honour the 20-year-old Nigerian also previously received three years ago.

Here is a complete overview of all the winners at the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards:

African Player of the Year
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Women's Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Most Promising Talent
Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Youth Player of the Year
Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Coach of the Year
Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns

National Team of the Year

Women's National Team of the Year

Post your Comment

comments powered by Disqus


Latest Additions

Kwame Nkrumah

Nnamdi Azikiwe

Pixley ka Isaka Seme

Robert Sobukwe

George Padmore

Read Biography>>>


Latest Additions

Robert Mugabe

Goodluck Jonathan

Mwai Kibaki

Winnie Mandela

Thabo Mbeki

Read Biography >>>